Writing

Bundle me up like a present.
Hold me tightly
like
a lost puppy
returning to its owner.
Kiss me gently
like
the first snow of the season
falls to the ground.
Remember me always
Like
a natural disaster hitting your
hometown.
Don’t slice my heart with your cutting edge words
instead
softly speak to it with love.
Keep me warm
like
a fire does
in freezing temperatures.
I’m a fragile thing
and
need the utmost care of understanding.
No one knows what I want
for
I have no idea what I want.
I’m that fish swimming against the current
and
I’m that rock staying firmly in place
through even the strongest of winds.
Don’t turn your back to me
but instead
turn your hand over
and leave your palm open.
For my fingers
will
gingerly slide into yours
and
together they shall stay.
Fitting perfectly,
like
they knew from the start
that
this is where they should live.

Leave a Reply

